33 Ways to Celebrate Summer Around the Philadelphia Suburbs

From music festivals to beer gardens to family-friendly activities, here’s our ultimate summer 2019 bucket list.

Bookmark these things to do in summer. Adobe Stock

From sunny-day celebrations to indoor adrenaline rushes, add these things to your warm-weather bucket list.

By Kim Douglas and Gina Lizzo

Rent a Sunfish and explore the 535-acre lake at Marsh Creek State Park in Downingtown. Visit dcnr.pa.gov.

summer lake
Adobe Stock

Kids in tow? Get creative at Color Me Mine, or jump around at Urban Air Trampoline and Adventure Park. Visit colormemine.com or urbanair.com.

summer Urban Air
Need things to do with the kids in summer? Check out Urban Air. Courtesy of Urban Air

Bike, walk or run from Exton to Valley Forge on the 14-mile Chester Valley Trail—or from Phoenixville to Philly on the 26-mile Schuylkill River Trail. Visit chesco.org and schuylkillriver.org.

- Advertisement -

Peruse the Wyeth galleries at the Brandywine River Museum of Art, or step back in time at the Chester County History Center. CCHC’s latest exhibit, Seventeen Men, delves into the lives of Black Civil War soldiers in the Mid-Atlantic region. It runs through July 1. Visit brandywine.org/museum and mycchc.org.

Let loose with some arcade games, bowling, karaoke and more at Game on State in Media or Round1 in Downingtown. Visit gameonstate.com and round1usa.com .

Grab a helmet and suspend yourself in mid-air for a simulated skydive at iFly in King of Prussia. For an extra adrenaline boost, try a “high flight” to go higher and faster with an instructor than you can on your own. Visit iflyworld.com.

Grab your friends, head to KOP and step inside Expedition Escape Rooms—and try to get out. Visit expeditionescape.com.

Pick cherries, blueberries, raspberries and peaches at Linvilla Orchards or Highland Orchards. Visit linvilla.com and highlandorchards.net.

- Partner Content -

Pickleball is popping up all over the Main Line region. Try the new Bounce Pickleball in Malvern. Visit bouncepb.com.

Challenge the kids to a round of mini-golf at one of two 18-hole courses at Freddy Hill Farms in Lansdale. Visit freddyhill.com .

Get up close and personal with an alpaca at Grist Mill Farms in Glenmoore, or feed a giraffe at Elmwood Park Zoo.Visit gristmillfarmalpacas.com and elmwoodparkzoo.org .

Cheer on the Philadelphia Union with the Sons of Ben, who host the city’s largest tailgate at every weekend home game. Visit sonsofben.com.

Otherworld
Courtesy of Otherworld

Get away to a technetronic land where anything is possible at Otherworld, an Ohio-based operation that’s opening its second location in Philadelphia this month. Dubbed an “immersive art experience,” the 40,000-square-foot attraction is the work of more than 100 artists, modellers, animators, creative technologists and fabricators. Visit otherworld.com.

- Advertisement -
waterpark
Courtesy of Camelbeach

For its 25th anniversary, the Pocono Mountains’ Camelbeach Outdoor Waterpark launches the new Rival Racer waterslide, with a 54-foot vertical drop that propels riders 400 feet along eight twisting, turning, dropping chutes. Or get lost in the High Noon Typhoon (pictured). Visit camelbackresort.com.

summer Topgolf
Courtesy of Topgolf
After some delays, Topgolf is set to debut in King of Prussia this summer. The year-round climate-controlled complex will offer a new type of golf experience, along with a full food and bar menu, live music and meeting space. Visit topgolf.com.

Let off some steam with an axe-throwing session at Splitting Edge Axe Throwing in Malvern or Stumpy’s Hatchet House in West Chester. Visit splittingedgeaxethrowing.com and stumpyshh.com.

Stroll amid the flora, fauna and lush fountain displays of Tyler Arboretum or Longwood Gardens. Visit tylerarboretum.org and longwoodgardens.org.

The Brandywine River is the perfect destination for a day of canoeing, tubing or kayaking. Rent what you need at Brandywine Outfitters in Coatesville or Northbrook Canoe Co. in West Chester. Visit canoepa.com and northbrookcanoe.com .

dogs
Adobe Stock / sinseeho
Meet new four-legged friends in Manayunk at Bark Social, touted as the world’s first social club for dogs. Visit barksocial.com.
summer dining
By Ed Williams

Need something to do on date night? Relax as a pair in an Epsom-salt float tank at Main Line Float and Freeze, bond over an adult beverage, a board game and some great food at Twenty One Pips, then catch a show at Ardmore Music Hall. Visit floatandfreeze.com, twentyonepips.com and ardmoremusichall.com.

Our Best of the Main Line Elimination Ballot is open through February 22!