Type to search

The Baldwin School Turns 125


Class of 1895
Gertrude Ely, organizer of the Junior League of Philadelphia and its president from 1915 to 1917

Class of 1898
Lydia Gould Weld, the first woman to graduate from MIT’s department of Naval Architecture and Marine Engineering

Class of 1924
Bertha Adkins, the country’s first female Undersecretary of Health, Education and Welfare

Class of 1939
Marjorie Kirk McKusick, part of the first female class at Harvard Medical School

Class of 1948
Anne Cabot Wyman, awarded the Pulitzer Prize as editorial page editor of the Boston Globe

Class of 1964
Martha Craven Nussbaum, University of Chicago law professor, bestselling author and one of Foreign Policy’s Top 100 Global Thinkers

Class of 1966
Henrietta Holsman Fore, the first female administrator of the United States Agency for International Development

Class of 1996
Marisa Porges, former U.S. counterterrorism policy adviser

Summer flash sale!

Save 50% today on a subscription to Main Line Today

Limited time offer. New subscribers only.

Summer flash sale ... subscribe and save 50%

Limited time offer. New subscribers only.